Day Six are:

Drums: Daan Liebregts
Bass: Eric Smits
Synthesizers: Rutger Vlek
Guitar/ Vocals: Robbie van Stiphout

Day Six’ music could best be described as progressive rock/metal, although it includes symphonic elements, as well as pop, electro, jazz and funk influences.  Founded in 1996 under the name Peanuts, the band is known as Day Six since 2002 and changed to its current line-up in 2015. Long-time musical friends and original members Robbie van Stiphout (guitars, vocals) and Daan Liebregts (drums) share a history of 20 years of making music together. Eric Smits (bass, backing vocals) joined the band in 2011, after gaining broad musical experience as a singer and bass player in Casual Silence and several other bands. Keys player Rutger Vlek is the most recent addition to the Day Six line up (2015), and has played with Orpheo and Autumn in the past, as well as being involved in various studio projects.

The band shows strong influences from 70’s bands like, Deep Purple, Pink Floyd, Rush, Yes, and ELP, as well as modern bands like Porcupine Tree, Opeth, Dream Theater, Muse, and Transatlantic.

Live performance has always been an important aspect of the Day Six’ genetic material, enjoying the energy and interaction on stage, as well as ongoing efforts to bring the best possible sound to the audience. This showed in typically British style, when their 2011 UK tour was reviewed as “Jawdroppingly good!”.

After releasing their debut album “Eternal Dignity” (2003, Progman Records), Day Six has been actively taking part in various music contests, consistently receiving high praise, and winning the prestigious Dutch “Metal Battle” (2004) and “Aardschok Metal Bash” (2004).

In 2010, the band’s second album “The Grand Design” was released worldwide through Lion Music Records. The album was very well-received. As a consequence the band gained international interest, leading to a UK tour and support opportunities with Threshold, Vanden Plas, Riverside, Evergrey, The Gathering, and Focus, as well as being booked for festivals such as Summer’s End (UK, 2011), Fused Festival (UK, 2011), Headway Festival (NL, 2003) and Progpower Europe (NL, 2004, 2007, 2010, 2013).

On december 14th the new album “Solitary League” will be released worldwide by Lion Music Records


Geef een reactie

Het e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd. Verplichte velden zijn gemarkeerd met *